CCSESA Rural County Arts Cohort

CCSESA is pleased to announce the beginning of a Rural County Arts Cohort, as part of a new grant from the Stuart Foundation intended to strengthen and expand arts education in rural communities. After a call for applications, CCSESA asked an external panel of experts to view the applications and make funding recommendations. The following county offices of education were selected for Opportunity #1 for implementation of county arts strategic arts plans: Amador, Butte, Humboldt, Mono, and Tulare. For Opportunity #2, the following county offices were selected to move forward with county arts planning in partnership with the California Alliance for Arts Education: Imperial, Mariposa, and Nevada.

On August 5, Implementation Grantees gathered in Sacramento for a grant orientation and arts integration training and collaboration. Facilitators for the session were Dr. Merryl Goldberg (CSU San Marcos and CREAT CA), Peggy Burt (California Alliance for Arts Education), and Sarah Anderberg (CCSESA). Participants included: Donna Custodio (Amador), Jennifer Spangler (Butte), Stacy Young (Humboldt), Shana Stapp (Mono), and Kate Stover (Tulare). 

The focus on rural arts education has grown out of two statewide Rural Arts Think Tanks offered in partnership with the California Department of Education and CREATE CA. The goal is to provide more opportunities for students in rural communities to have access to arts education in dance, media arts, music, theatre, and visual arts.

Go Top